RSS Feed

500 days of Song of the Day

Posted on

Today I celebrate 500 days of song of the day. And well I guess that’s quite something. As a lovely friend proclaimed last night – that’s almost a million. And well I guess it is, almost.

So I have been racking my brain about what on earth I should do to celebrate this momentous occasion. And well I just thought I’d tell you the story.

I was always a music fanatic. When I moved to Geneva from South Africa, to start working in Finance, I was beyond excited to finally have concerts within my geographical reach.

I’ll never forget how after just two weeks of my arrival I nearly hyperventilated when I heard that The National (whose new album I am listening to while I write this) were playing just 45 minutes away.

I got my hands on the new arrivals email list compromising of easily 200 people and wrote an ecstatic message asking who would come with me to the concert. Not a single reply. Not one. In fact when I mentioned indie music people either didn’t know what it was or thought I meant Indian music. This scenario repeated itself more than once.

Out of pure desperation I decided to do something about it. I learnt from my past failed attempts of inspiring fellow friends by smothering them with 3 tons of must listen to music. Instead I started emailing new selected friends a song a day – the basics of indie music I use to say– every morning. Half for the love of spreading music, half to get a concert companion.

Those few email subscribers became ten, that became 40 that became +100. Song of the Day started becoming the reason I could get through my day at work. I started a music collaboration project. I turned the mailing list into a blog. As the view ship grew and we started throwing our own indie music parties. This went on for over two years.

And then I quit my job. I moved countries, changed industries. I started this new blog to tell the story. And now I am in London working in the music industry. And I look back and think – wow. It started with a song a day and stupid amount of passion. And the wonderful people who put up with it and supported me.

And so this is every song (or nearly – some are not Spotify friendly) that I have ever given out. All Song of the days ever.
A music road map to making my dreams come true.

If you have a passion, work at it every day and maybe one day you’ll have the privilege in loving what you do.

6 responses »

  1. Cool post, brilliant read. We’re trying to grab an audience with song of the day too at http://www.juvenilehearing.com would you mind giving us some sort of shout? It would mean the world, and we’d give you a shout in return on the website, Facebook page and twitter page. Thanks! Juvenile Hearing

    Reply
  2. Because of you, I m listenning to new type of musics (and you know my musical taste and passion for B.S. 🙂 ) and I have to admit… I like it! Thanks
    btw: come and visit us!!!!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Song of the day: I want you near, I wanna whisper to your ear | MasMusic

  4. Wonderful post! And what a collection of songs you’ve selected over the years. So many of my personal favorites. Cheers to the Next 500!

    Reply

What do you think?

